Amelia Island

10 March 2012

Previous Next

Lot 139

1983 Ferrari 512BBi

  • Chassis no. ZFFJA09B000044231

Sold for $112,750


360 hp, 4,943 cc DOHC fuel-injected horizontally-opposed 12-cylinder engine, five-speed transaxle, independent front and rear suspension by coil springs and unequal wishbones, four-wheel hydraulic disc brakes. Wheelbase: 98.4"



• Final version of 365/512 series, with Bosch fuel injection

• Major service performed by Gary Bobileff 200 miles ago

• Red with tan leather interior; 16,868 miles from new



Enzo Ferrari built his first flat 12-cylinder engines for the 1964 Formula One car, but it wasn’t until 1971 that a flat-12 appeared in a street car. The Pininfarina-designed, Scaglietti-built 365GT4 BB was unveiled at the Turin Auto Show and featured a “truss-type” frame, which combined ladder and space-frame technology.



The inner structure and some outer panels were steel, but the doors, belly pan and nose and tail sections were aluminum, while the lower body sections were fiberglass. The engine was placed behind the driver and the radiator located at the front of a small trunk.



In 1976 the 4.4-liter engine was enlarged to 4,943 cc to create the 512BB, and in 1981 the Bosch K-Jetronic fuel-injected BBi was introduced at the Frankfurt show to improve emissions compliance. By 1984 some 1,007 512s had been built, and when the model was discontinued, it marked the end of an era in Ferrari history. As Sergio Scaglietti remarked sadly, “It was the last car where we made everything by hand.”



This particular car has just received a major belt service from marque expert Gary Bobileff Motor Co. only 200 miles ago. It is reported to be in exceptional condition throughout, with only 16,868 indicated miles from new, and comes with all tools, books and detailed records of its last service. Finished in Rosso Corsa with tan leather interior, this is certainly of the finest Boxers available.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more