Amelia Island

10 March 2012

Previous Next

Lot 101

Ferrari 250 GTO Bronze Sculpture

Sold for $23,000


In the pantheon of coveted cars, there is nothing more desirable than Ferrari’s 250 GTO, and there aren’t enough superlatives in the classic car lexicon that can be bestowed upon it. Both achingly beautiful and blindingly fast, neither form nor function were sacrificed for the other in creating a gran turismo that won the World Sports Car Championship not once, or twice, but three times for Ferrari!



Even more successful than the 250 GT SWB that preceded it, the 250 GTO enjoyed superb competition results, winning countless hill climbs, endurance races and everything in between, often times even sweeping the podium. It achieved success in all the world’s greatest races, from Daytona to the Tour de France, and continued to be a favorite of wealthy privateer racers for years thereafter.



This lovely bronze sculpture of a Ferrari 250 GTO was produced in 1990 by J. Paul Nesse as part of a limited run of only 39 examples. It commemorates Ferrari’s GT class win at Le Mans in GTO chassis 3705 GT, which is currently owned by Ed and Leslie Davies and is on display at this year’s Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance. The actual car was driven to a class win by Jean Guichet and Pierre Noblet, the former of whom sold the car back in the 1960s. No more of these fabulous bronze pieces are available at this time, so this is a rare opportunity to acquire a fantastic part of Ferrari history, immortalized here in stunning detail, with the car muddied from hours of endurance racing and a driver change in progress.



Please note that proceeds from this lot’s sale will go to benefit Spina Bifida of Jacksonville, a non-profit organization founded in 1973, which is dedicated to promote the prevention of Spina Bifida and to enhance the lives of all those afflicted.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more