London

31 October 2012

Collection of Wim Zegwaard

Previous Next

Lot 118

1957 Chevrolet Bel Air Convertible

  • Chassis no. VC57L197927

Sold for £40,880


265 cu. in. overhead valve V-8 engine, two-speed Powerglide automatic transmission, independent front suspension with coil springs, live rear axle suspension, and four-wheel drum brakes. Wheelbase: 115 in.



• Attractive Dusk Pearl

• Fully restored

• Offered from the Zegwaard Collection



There is no question that the designers working on the 1957 Chevrolets had two tough acts to follow after the attractive and popular 1955 and 1956 models, with their powerful, lightweight V-8s. However, seemingly minimal revisions, including a new front bumper with bullet-shaped dagmars, a revised grille, headlamps inset below peaked overhangs, and those glorious and subtle fins accented by a contrasting sweep panel, transformed the 1957 models into the most glamorous yet.



The resulting One-Fifty, Two-Ten, and Bel Air series looked fantastic, and with the optional line of 283 V-8s, performance was even better than before. Critically, the car-buying public embraced the new look and Chevrolet sold more than a million and a half cars. Not surprisingly, in the years that have followed its introduction, the 1957s have developed an avid following.



Without a doubt, the most collectible of all the “Tri-Chevy’s”, is the Bel Air convertible, which was available in a series of great colours, including such hues as Tropical Turquoise, Matador Red, and the subject car’s stunning Dusk Pearl. The interior is authentically trimmed in silver and beige vinyl and sports the original dashboard with all the original, correct instrumentation, and the power-convertible top is a similar light beige colour. Other equipment includes the original radio, the correct steel wheels with chrome hubcaps, and cross-ply whitewall tyres. Little used of late, this is one sharp and solid car with excellent paint in a superb colour and very strong chrome. Upon inspection, it was found to run smoothly, even from cold, and it would benefit from further use.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more