London

31 October 2012

Collection of Wim Zegwaard

Previous Next

Lot 117

1961 Chevrolet Impala Convertible

  • Chassis no. 11867N194362

Sold for £23,520


170 hp, 283 cu. in. overhead valve V-8 engine, three-speed manual transmission, independent front suspension with coil springs, live rear axle suspension, and four-wheel drum brakes. Wheelbase: 119 in.



• Striking Roman Red exterior

• Perfect for cruising

• Offered from the Zegwaard Collection



When the 1961 Chevrolets were introduced, Harley Earl’s “longer, lower, and wider” mantra had been abandoned. The bodies were smaller and the fins were gone, but under the smaller package lay the same potent components. The independent front suspension and live rear axle remained, and so too did a choice of six- and eight-cylinder engines. For 1961, the 283-, 348-, and 409-cubic inch V-8s were offered. Those V-8s were incredibly popular because they were smooth and powerful and just about bulletproof. They were also the key to Chevrolet’s position as the market leader in North America.



Once again, the Impala was Chevy’s top range offering. Like all Impalas, the convertible was distinguished by three taillights per side, and it held an important place in the line-up. This good looking Roman Red Impala convertible was the subject of a complete restoration. Trimmed in the correct red vinyl with red carpets, it rolls on original steel wheels with hubcaps and cross ply tyres. The manual transmission is equipped with a column shifter, or what Americans call a “three-on-the-tree”. The hood is power-operated, and the original transistor radio picks up its signal by way of a pair of antennas. With attention to the brakes and a light under the bonnet detail, this car would be perfect for a road trip, a day at the beach, or a visit to a local show.

Addendum

Please note that the photos for Lot 111 and Lot 117 have been accidentally switched. The correct photos of this 1961 Chevrolet Impala can be found under Lot 111.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more