London

31 October 2012

Collection of Wim Zegwaard

Previous Next

Lot 106

1977 Dodge Adventurer 150SE

  • Chassis no. D14BD7S151065
  • Engine no. 7T440E325

Sold for £9,520


440 cu. in. overhead valve V-8 engine, three-speed automatic transmission, front and rear live axle suspension, and four-wheel drum brakes. Wheelbase: 115 in.



• Well-appointed interior

• 32,041 miles from new; excellent original overall condition

• Offered from the Zegwaard Collection



By the 1970s, many Americans had decided that they didn’t need a car at all. Trucks had become increasingly versatile, with good looks as well as handling and performance almost on a par with full-size sedans. What’s more, they could do some serious hauling and they were incredibly tough. With cheap fuel readily available, the average American gave little thought to putting miles on a vehicle that travelled 7 to 12 miles on a U.S. gallon of gasoline.



For 1977, one of Dodge’s top entries for people who were kicking the car habit was the Adventurer SE, which was part of the D100 half-ton series of trucks. Engine options were many, including a straight-six and V-8s of 318-, 360-, 400-, and 440-cubic inches. Both manual and automatic transmissions were available, as were two- and four-wheel drive. The interior was comfortable and attractively trimmed, and the gauge package was comprehensive.



A Dodge pickup truck of the mid-1970s has few secrets, because the serial number tells all. According to the number, this Dodge Adventurer 150SE is a D100 Series truck with a conventional cab and a gross vehicle weight of over 6,000 pounds. It is powered by a 440 CID overhead valve V-8, and it was built in 1977 at Plant Number 1 in Warren, Michigan. The exterior is in fine unrestored condition and is attractive in its original two shades of blue, which go nicely with the blue interior. The engine bay appears sound and is perfectly consistent with a vehicle that has covered 32,041 miles without restoration. Like any Dodge truck, this half-ton Adventurer is capable of working very hard for hundreds of thousands of miles.

Addendum

Please note this car has been converted to run on LPG.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more