Sam Pack Collection

14-15 November 2014

Previous Next

Lot 134

1940 Ford Convertible Custom

  • Chassis no. 5817810

Sold for $63,250


Model 01A. Est. 200 bhp, 283 cu. in. OHV V-8 engine, three-speed manual transmission with overdrive, solid front axle with a transverse leaf spring, live rear axle with longitudinal semi-elliptic leaf springs, and front disc and rear drum power-hydraulic brakes. Wheelbase: 112 in.

  • High-quality rotisserie restoration, featuring a 283 Chevy V-8 with an eight-inch Ford axle and a three-speed manual with overdrive


All early Ford V-8s are treasured by their owners and admired for their beauty. Some models, however, have engendered a wide and perennial following. Among these are the 1932 “Deuce” coupes and roadsters and the 1936 roadster. The favorites among 1940s Fords are surely the 1940 coupes and convertibles.

Like the Deuces and ’36 Fords, the 1940 models have always been popular with the rodding community. This car is a prime example of the street rod genre, with subtle modifications made to it so that it looks almost entirely stock both inside and out.

Its power comes from a 283-cubic inch small block from a 1965 Chevy that has been outfitted with a mild cam, which drives its eight-inch Ford axle through a three-speed manual transmission with overdrive. It has power front disc brakes, drum brakes at the rear, air conditioning, and a Walker radiator. The original radio is located in the stock dashboard, and the car has directional signals and seat belts. It has also been converted to 12 volts, with the battery in the luggage compartment. The tires are Coker Classic whitewalls, with the 235/75R15s in the rear combining with 195/75R15 fronts to give it a very slight rake.

The car is finished in royal blue and has a matching convertible top and medium brown interior. It presents quite well and comes with an album of the rotisserie restoration and mechanical build. This Ford Convertible Custom is a true sleeper for the street.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more