Sam Pack Collection

14-15 November 2014

Previous Next

Lot 169

1953 Lincoln Capri Convertible

  • Chassis no. 53LA8143H

Sold for $41,250


205 bhp, 317.5 cu. in. OHV V-8 engine, four-speed Hydra-Matic transmission, coil-spring independent front suspension, live rear axle with semi-elliptic leaf springs, and four-wheel power-hydraulic brakes. Wheelbase: 123 in.

  • One of 2,372 built; Refreshed original “Road Race” Lincoln


Lincoln, a race champion? The idea seems preposterous today, but in the 1950s it really happened. Anxious to promote Lincoln’s new OHV V-8 engine and ball-joint suspension were Ford West Coast Competition Manager Clay Smith and his partner Bill Stroppe, who talked Lincoln into fielding a team for the Carrera Panamericana. The November 1952 event saw 1953 Lincolns finish 1-2-3-4 in the stock car class, and the following year, they managed a 1-2-3 sweep. As a result, that era’s cars are known as “Road Race” Lincolns, even to this day.



This 1953 Lincoln Capri is a refreshed original car that shows barely 20,000 miles, which are believed original. It is repainted in correct Empire Green and has been reupholstered with green and white pleated leather. The chrome was also redone at the time of freshening. The convertible top is of a black canvas, and it comes with a vinyl boot that matches the body color.



In addition to the standard Hydra-Matic transmission, it is equipped with power steering, brakes, and windows, a pushbutton AM radio, a heater-defroster, and a dashboard clock. The luggage compartment has been renewed with a correct-pattern liner.



The engine compartment is clean and well appointed and features a few items of modern hardware. The tires are Broadway Grand Prix wide whitewalls in the L78-15 size. This Lincoln Capri is rare, as it is just one of just 2,372 built, and it is also robust, as the Mexican race amply proved.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more