Sam Pack Collection

14-15 November 2014

Previous Next

Lot 139

1957 Chevrolet Bel Air Sport Coupe Custom

  • Chassis no. VC57N142727

Sold for $49,500


450 bhp, 383 cu. in. OHV V-8 engine, four-speed manual transmission, coil-spring independent front suspension, live rear axle with semi-elliptic leaf springs, and four-wheel power-hydraulic disc brakes. Wheelbase: 115 in.

  • Small block, “stroker,” 383-cubic inch engine with a Muncie close-ratio four-speed
  • More than 30 awards to its name


American car designs typically ran in three-year cycles. Usually by the third year of a design the car was in dire need of freshening. The 1957 Chevy, however, has been the exception to the rule. The only difference from past years was that the car was lowered and the nose and tail were given Cadillac cues, which resulted in what some call a “baby Eldorado.” Despite being an “old design,” the ’57 Chevy is just right, as in it looks as fresh today as it did 57 years ago.

There are some, however, for whom just right is not enough. An automobile, even a ’57 Chevy, represents a blank canvas for expression, expression of engineering and of art, and so it was with this Bel Air Sport Coupe.

Art should have a focal point. For this car, that focal point is undoubtedly the small block “stroker” engine, which is a 350-gear drive unit that had been enlarged to 383 cubic inches and mated to a Muncie four-speed transmission with a Hurst quick shift, which helps send 450 horsepower to the rear tires. Lifting the hood reveals a sea of red and billet aluminum. The interior is all of fine-grain tan leather and features a Kenwood sound system that has a four-disc auto changer and an AutoMeter Sport-Comp tachometer that is mounted to the steering column.

The chassis has been powder-coated and four-wheel disc brakes have been fitted, along with custom alloy wheels and B.F. Goodrich Radial T/A tires. This Chevrolet Bel Air has been the winner of six national awards and has accrued nearly 30 Best of Show honors.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more